汽车

ADAS 和自动驾驶

适用于 ADAS 系统和自主驾驶硬件平台的符合 AEC-Q100 标准的时序解决方案

简介

汽车 ADAS 和自动驾驶

高级驾驶辅助系统 (ADAS) 向驾驶员提供反馈,和/或协助驾驶员进行驾驶操作、制动或加速,以提高车辆内外人员的安全性。ADAS 系统包含复杂程度不同的各种功能,并且正在为完全自主车辆铺平道路。 汽车工程师协会将自动驾驶定义了 6 个级别,范围从无自动化(级别 0)到完全自动化(级别 5)。

设计注意事项

驾驶员辅助和自动驾驶解决方案

每个自动化级别都为车辆规定了更高程度的自主驾驶功能,这就需要更高程度的处理能力和数据路径连接性,以使用车辆内外传感器收集的数据来导航车辆。随着车辆由人控制转变为汽车自主控制,安全性变得愈发重要,并且成为 ADAS 系统设计中最为关键的要素之一。

ADAS 系统涵盖各种应用和设计复杂性。时序要求也会有很大差异,并且随着上述的每种自动化级别逐级递进而变得越来越重要。从级别 2 跳至级别 3 需要大幅增加设计复杂性,因此为时钟树设计带来了新的挑战。采用高带宽 FPGA 和/或处理器、高速数据总线和 1GbE/10GbE 以太网连接带来了对混合变化频率的差分和单端时钟的需求,其中一些时钟要求抖动性能低于 500fs RMS,以满足高速 SerDes 和 PCIe-Express 接口的需求。在为您的 ADAS 设计选择时序解决方案时,我们建议您考虑以下方面:

总结时钟树:首先梳理所有参考时钟、性能水平以及设计中所需的相关时序功能。这通常称为时钟树。每种单独设计都有其独特的时钟树,但通常需要具有不同等级抖动性能要求的单端时钟和差分时钟。开始确定时序解决方案时对时钟树进行总结将非常有用。

可靠性:石英晶体和振荡器组件都是易受冲击和发生振动故障的机械设备。甚至连符合 AEC-Q200 标准的设备都具有较高 FIT 失效率,且通常是系统设计中失效率最高的组件。级别 3/4/5 的 ADAS 设计通常需要 8 个或更多参考时钟。在系统设计中添加越来越多的石英晶体和振荡器组件不仅会增加物料表和系统总成本,还会增加可靠性方面的顾虑,因为石英元件易受冲击和发生振动故障。一种更好的方法是将石英晶体和振荡器组件的功能集成到一个时钟发生器解决方案中,采取这种方法会大大降低与设计时序部分相关的 FIT 失效率,同时还会提供有益于时钟树设计的许多其他功能,例如减少 EMI/EMC 的扩频功能、频率选择和故障监控。

频率灵活性:高带宽 FPGA 和处理器平台需要在不同输出电压下采用单端和差分输出格式级别的变化频率的参考时钟,且所有参考时钟要求低抖动。Silicon Labs 获得专利的 MultiSynth 输出分频技术在高达 12 输出的整数和分数相关输出频率上均可提供 0 ppm 合成错误,同时保持业界最佳的抖动性能。每种时钟输出都可以单独设置为特定的输出格式级别,并且可以连结不同的输出电压水平,从而轻松满足您的系统设计要求。

安全合规性:在 ADAS 设计或模块设计中符合 ISO26262 标准和汽车安全完整性等级 (ASIL) 非常重要。在这些应用中,可能需要参考时钟冗余和/或健康监测来达到系统级安全目标。我们符合 AEC-Q100 标准的 Si5332 时钟发生器包含石英晶体或振荡器解决方案无法提供的故障监控和检测功能,例如针对冗余的主参考输入和备份参考输入、输入参考健康状况和状态监测、参考信号损耗故障检测指示器、用于与 ASIL 系统安全管理器 IC 通信的硬件接口引脚以及从主输入源迁移至二次输入源的能力。

EMI/EMC: 大多数 ADAS 时钟树由单端和差分参考时钟组成。单端 LVCMOS 参考时钟是高速数字设计中的常见发射源,并且通常是能否满足 CISPR25 Class-4 和 Class-5 发射要求的关键所在。Silicon Labs 提供了一种克服这一挑战的独特方式,即在我们的 AEC-Q100 Si5332 时钟发生器中使用互补性 LVCMOS 输出驱动器。系统设计者可以通过遵循 AN1237 中建议的设计指南,减少 LVCMOS 时钟产生的发射。

功能集和集成:除了以上提到的安全功能和互补性 LVCMOS 功能外,我们的 Si5332 时钟发生器还配备了许多可以简化设计的其他功能,例如减少 EMI 的扩频功能、频率选择功能、硬件输出使能控制以及多配置文件选择。实现低抖动性能始终是优先考虑的事项,因此我们的时钟发生器在所有电源引脚上都包含了片上 LDO,从而带来了业界最佳的 PSNR 性能。通过片上实现抑制外部电源和板级噪声极大减少了电源滤波所需的外部组件数量,从而降低了电路板空间和成本,并确保了输出时钟抖动性能符合数据表规格限值。

PCIe 时序: PCI-Express 是一种用于级别 3/4/5 ADAS 设计的常用数据总线,这增加了每个 PCIe 端点对低抖动差分参考时钟的需求。我们的 Si5332 可编程时钟发生器、Si5225x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 时钟发生器和 Si5325x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 具有带内部端接的低功耗 HCSL 输出驱动器,能够匹配 85ohm 或 100ohm 传输线路,而无需任何外部端接。正确测量 PCIe 参考时钟上的抖动并不容易,因此为简化流程并消除混淆,我们开发了 PCIe 时钟抖动工具。请访问我们的 PCIe 学习中心,免费下载此工具并详细了解 PCIe 时序。

定制:我们的 ClockBuilder Pro 软件工具可指导您轻松、逐步地生成针对您的时钟树要求的配置文件。配置文件完成后,ClockBuilder Pro 可针对您的设计专门分配一个定制部件号,提供相关数据表附录,并允许您将其保存以备后用。

方框图
查找合适的产品
资源

ClockBuilder Pro

搜索时序汽车开发套件

AN1237:最大限度降低 EMI 的设计指南

PCIe 时钟抖动工具

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

AUTOMOTIVE

ADAS and Automated Driving

AEC-Q100 qualified timing solutions for ADAS systems and autonomous driving hardware platforms

overview

Automotive ADAS and Automated Driving

Advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) provide feedback to a human driver and/or assist the driver in performing steering, braking, or acceleration functions in order to increase safety of those in and around the vehicle. ADAS systems span a wide range of functionality in varying degrees of complexity, and are paving the way to fully autonomous vehicles.  The Society of Automotive Engineers defines 6 levels of automated driving, ranging from no automation (Level 0) to fully autonomous (Level 5).  

design considerations

Driver Assistance and Automated Driving Solutions

Each level of automation provides the vehicle with a higher degree of autonomy to perform driving functions, requiring higher degrees of processing power and data path connectivity to navigate the vehicle using data being collected by sensors in and around the vehicle. As vehicle control shifts from human to the automobile, safety becomes even more important and is one of the most critical elements in ADAS system designs.

ADAS systems span a wide range of applications and complexity in design. Timing requirements will also vary widely, and become increasingly important with each successive level of automation as described above. The jump from Level2 to Level3 requires a significant increase in design complexity and therefore presents new challenges for clock tree design. Adoption of high bandwidth FPGAs and/or processors, high-speed data buses, and 1GbE/10GbE Ethernet connectivity present the need for both differential as well as single-ended clocks, at a mix of varying frequencies, some of which have jitter performance requirements below 500fs RMS to meet the needs of high-speed SerDes and PCIe-Express interfaces. We recommend considering the following when selecting a timing solution for your ADAS design:

Summarize The Clock Tree: Start by outlining all the reference clocks, performance levels, and associated timing features needed within your design. This is commonly known as a clock tree. Each individual design will have its own unique clock tree, but will commonly need a combination of single-ended clocks and differential clocks with different levels of jitter performance requirements. Having this summary will be useful when starting to identify a timing solution.

Reliability: Quartz crystal and oscillator components are mechanical devices that are prone to shock and vibration failure. Even AEC-Q200 rated devices have high FIT rates, oftentimes being the components with the highest point of failure rating in system design. Level3/4/5 ADAS designs often require 8 or more reference clocks. Adding more and more quartz crystal and oscillator components to a system design not only increases the bill of materials and total system cost but also increases reliability concerns as quartz elements are prone to shock and vibration failure. A better approach is to integrate the functionality of that quartz crystal and oscillator components into a clock generator solution, which greatly reduces the FIT rate associated with the timing portion of the design, while also providing numerous other features that can be beneficial to clock tree design, such as spread spectrum for EMI/EMC mitigation, frequency selection, and fault monitoring.

Frequency Flexibility: High bandwidth FPGA and processor platforms require reference clocks of varying frequencies, in both single-ended and differential output output format levels, at different output voltages, all with low jitter requirements. Silicon Labs' patented MultiSynth output divider technology provides 0ppm synthesis error on both integer and fractional related output frequencies on up to 12 outputs while maintaining industry best jitter performance. Each clock output can be individually set to a specific output format level and can be tied to different output voltage levels, easily aligning to your system design requirements.

Safety Compliance: ISO26262 and Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) compliance are of high importance in ADAS designs or blocks of designs. In these applications, reference clock redundancy and/or health monitoring may be required to meet system-level safety goals. Our AEC-Q100 qualified Si5332 clock generators include fault monitoring and detection features that are not available in quartz crystal or oscillator solutions, such as primary and backup reference inputs for redundancy, input reference health and status monitoring, loss of reference signal fault detection indicators, hardware interface pins to communicate with an ASIL system safety manager IC, and the ability to migrate from a primary input source to secondary input source.

EMI/EMC: Most ADAS clock trees consist of both single-ended and differential reference clocks. Single-ended LVCMOS reference clocks are common sources of emissions in a high-speed digital design and are often a key concern in meeting CISPR25 Class-4 and Class-5 emissions requirements. Silicon Labs provides a unique way to overcome this challenge through the use of complementary LVCMOS output drivers in our AEC-Q100 Si5332 clock generators. By following the recommended design guidelines in AN1237, system designers can mitigate emissions generated by LVCMOS clocks.

Feature Set and Integration: In addition to the safety features and complementary LVCMOS features noted above, our Si5332 clock generators come equipped with many other features that can simplify your design, such as spread spectrum for EMI reduction, frequency selection capability, hardware output enable control and multi-profile selection. Achieving low jitter performance is always a high priority, so our clock generators include on-chip LDOs on all power pins, resulting in industry best PSNR performance. Suppressing external power supply and board-level noise on-chip greatly reduces the number of external components needed for power filtering, reducing board space and cost, and ensures that output clock jitter performance meetings the datasheet specification limits.

PCIe Timing: PCI-Express is a common data bus used in Level3/4/5 ADAS designs, which adds the need for low-jitter differential reference clocks for each PCIe endpoint. Our Si5332 programmable clock generators, Si5225x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 clock generators, and Si5325x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 feature low-power HCSL output drivers with internal termination, with the ability to match either an 85ohm or 100ohm transmission lines without any external termination. Properly measuring jitter on a PCIe reference clock is not straightforward, so to simplify the process and eliminate confusion, we developed the PCIe Clock Jitter Tool. Download the tool for free and learn more about PCIe timing by visiting our PCIe Learning Center.

Customization: Our ClockBuilder Pro software tool guides you through an easy, step-by-step process to generate a configuration file specific to your clock tree requirements. When the configuration file is complete, ClockBuilder Pro can assign a customized part number specific to your design, provide an associated datasheet addendum, and allow you to save it for future use.

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT
rESOURCES

ClockBuilder Pro

Search Timing Automotive Development Kits

AN1237: Design Guidelines for Minimizing EMI

PCIe Clock Jitter Tool

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the Right Products
Resources
Close
Loading Results