汽车

电池管理系统

业界领先的电动汽车电池管理系统隔离解决方案

简介

混合动力汽车和电动汽车电池管理系统

电池管理系统 (BMS) 用于监控和控制电力存储系统,确保电池状况良好,并为车辆系统提供电力。隔离产品在电动汽车 (EV) 或混合动力电动汽车 (HEV) 的电气域中的 BMS 内有众多用途。

设计注意事项

为什么隔离在 EV 或 HEV 电池管理系统中至关重要

电池管理系统 (BMS) 管理车载高电压 (HV) 电池中的存储电力,并将电力提供给车辆的其他部分。主要功能包括单电池平衡、电池健康状况和磨损平衡、充放电监控和安全保证。所有这些功能都需要电流隔离来将较低电压系统与高电压域分开。

EV 采用电池管理系统进行主电池供电,HEV 采用 BMS 进行电池侧部分供电,这与内燃机 (ICE) 形成互补。BMS 监控电池的电压、电流、温度和磨损平衡。其他功能包括监控故障、系统健康状况、可用能量和剩余的有效寿命。单个锂离子电池的电压在 3-4V 范围内。它们以串联形式连接用以提供更高电压,以并联形式连接用以增加容量。

为了监控模块和电池单元,电池管理系统可能会采用中央式架构,或采用由一个 BMS 主机和几个远程 BMS 装置组成的分布式/模块化架构。在分布式 BMS 系统中,监控单电池的远程装置可以并联形式与 BMS 主机相连,或以串联形式菊花链状连接。在任何情况下,从电池模块或 BMS 远程装置到 BMS 主机的连接都必须进行隔离,以保护 BMS 主机免受电池电压的影响。

下图描述了带有多个电池组的分布式电池管理系统,其中每个电池组都带有一个远程 BMS 控制装置。在这种构造中,远程 BMS 装置对电池模块内的电池单元进行测量,并通过一系列连接将测量数据报告给 BMS 主控制器。全栈的电流测量是通过使用堆栈底部的一个分流电阻器和一个隔离电流放大器(如 Si892x)进行的。BMS 控制器可通过累加模块的电压总和来计算全栈的电压,但全栈的冗余安全检查隔离电压测量可使用电阻分压器和隔离电压感测放大器进行。整个系统可通过汽车总线(如 CAN)进行监控和控制,CAN 是采用数字隔离器(包括 Si86xx)和带有集成直流-直流电源转换器的数字隔离器(如 Si88xx)进行隔离的。

方框图
查找合适的产品
资源

隔离器对比光电耦合器技术

适用于电动汽车系统的信号和电源隔离

GaN IC 如何改变 EV 市场

电动车系统的隔离快速参考

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Automotive

Battery Management Systems

Industry leading isolation solutions for battery management systems on electric vehicles

overview

Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Battery Management Systems

Battery Management Systems (BMS) are used to monitor and control power storage systems, assure health of battery cells and deliver power to vehicle systems. Isolation products have numerous uses inside BMS in the electrical domains of Electric Vehicles (EV) or Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEV).

design considerations

Why Isolation is Critical in an EV or HEV Battery Management System

The Battery Management System (BMS) manages stored power in an on-board high voltage (HV) battery and delivers power to the rest of the vehicle. Main functions include cell balancing, cell health and wear leveling, charge and discharge monitoring and safety assurance. All of these functions require galvanic isolation to separate lower voltage systems from high voltage domains.

EVs utilize Battery Management Systems for the main battery-based power supply, and HEVs use BMS for battery-side portion of power, complimentary to the internal combustion engine (ICE). BMS monitors the voltage, current, temperature, and wear leveling of battery cells. Additional functions include monitoring faults, system health, available energy and remaining useful lifetime. Individual lithium-ion battery cells are in the 3 – 4V range. They are connected in series to deliver higher voltage, and in parallel to increase capacity.

To monitor the modules and cells, the Battery Management Sysytem may have a centralized architecture, or a distributed/modular architecture consisting of a BMS master and several remote BMS units. In distributed BMS systems, remote units monitoring individual cells may be connected in parallel to the BMS master, or they may be daisy-chained in series. In any case, connections from the battery modules or BMS remote units to the BMS master must be isolated to protect the BMS master from the battery voltages.

The diagram below depicts a distributed Battery Management System with multiple packs of cells, each with a remote BMS control unit. In this configuration, measurements on cells within the battery modules are made by the remote BMS units and reported over a series connection to the BMS Master controller. Current measurement for the full stack is made using a shunt resistor at the bottom of the stack and an isolated current amp, such as Si892x. The BMS controller can calculate the voltage of the full stack by summing the voltages of the modules, but a redundant safety-check isolated voltage measurement of the full stack can be made using a resistor divider and isolated voltage sense amp. The entire system can be monitored and controlled via an automotive bus such as CAN which is isolated with digital isolators, including Si86xx and digital isolators with integrated dc-dc power converters such as Si88xx.

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT
rESOURCES

Isolator vs. Optocoupler Technology

Signal and Power Isolation for Electric Vehicle Systems

How GaN ICs are Transforming the EV Market

Isolation in Electric Vehicle Systems Quick Reference

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the Right Products
Resources
Close
Loading Results