汽车

激光雷达、雷达和摄像机系统

频率灵活的集成时序解决方案

简介

汽车激光雷达、雷达和摄像机系统

分类为级别 3、级别 4 和级别 5 的车辆必须充分了解周围环境,跟踪各个方向物体的状态和移动,并利用该信息导航车辆。 激光雷达、雷达和摄像机组合用于创建车辆环境和周围物体的短距离、中等距离和长距离三维地图。 这些系统不断检测大量实时数据并通过高带宽以太网将其传输至自动驾驶中央计算平台。 数据经先进软件算法进行处理,以确定物体和物体的轨迹是什么以及物体的移动速度,最终形成车辆周围的瞬时三维地图,从而决定如何对车辆进行导航。

设计注意事项

硅基时序解决方案的优势

激光雷达、雷达和摄像机系统都有这样或那样的优势,因此其组合通常用于级别 3、级别 4 和级别 5 使能的自动车辆。大多数设计采用具有 56G 高带宽或 112G SerDes 的高端 FPGA 平台和/或高速处理器平台。也常使用专用传感器 IC 和高速 ADC/DAC 以及 1GbE 或 10GbE 来将数据传输至自动驾驶中央计算平台。这些主要设计组件中的每一种都需要具有各种差分输出格式、频率范围从 100 MHz 至 1 GHz 的整数和分数相关参考时钟,且参考时钟的 RMS 相位抖动低于 300fs。采用石英振荡器解决方案来满足这些要求会带来可靠性、成本以及采购方面的挑战。而时钟发生器能够将频率高达 1GHz 的整数和分数相关参考时钟组合进行综合,具有可编程输出格式驱动器,支持低至 100 fs 的 RMS 相位抖动性能,并且还提供了在小增量级中可用来更改一个或多个输出时钟频的系统内编程。

在为您的设计考虑时序解决方案时,我们建议您考虑以下方面:

总结时钟树:首先梳理所有参考时钟、抖动性能要求以及设计中所需的相关时序功能。这通常称为时钟树。每种单独设计都有其独特的时钟树,但通常需要具有不同等级抖动性能要求的单端时钟和差分时钟。开始确定时序解决方案时对时钟树进行总结将非常有用。

频率灵活性:激光雷达设计通常采用高带宽 FPGA、ASIC 和高速 ADC,所有这些都需要低抖动、高频 (100Mhz - 1Ghz) 差分输出时钟。Silicon Labs 获得专利的 MultiSynth 输出分频技术在高达 12 输出的整数和分数相关输出频率上均可提供 0 ppm 合成错误,同时保持业界最佳的抖动性能。每种输出都可以单独设置为特定的频率和格式级别,从而能够将高频时钟整合到一个时钟发生器中。我们的时钟发生器还提供系统内 I2C 频率编程以及 DCO 模式,从而能够对参考时钟进行微调。

可靠性:石英晶体和振荡器组件都是易受冲击和发生振动故障的机械设备。甚至连符合 AEC-Q200 标准的设备都具有较高 FIT 失效率,且通常是系统设计中失效率最高的组件。在系统设计中添加越来越多的石英晶体和振荡器组件不仅会增加物料表和系统总成本,还会增加可靠性方面的顾虑,因为石英元件易受冲击和发生振动故障。一种更好的方法是将石英晶体和振荡器组件集成到一个时钟发生器解决方案中。采取这种方法会大大降低与设计时序部分相关的 FIT 失效率,同时还会提供有益于时钟树设计的许多其他功能,例如减少 EMI/EMC 的扩频功能、频率选择和故障监控。

功能集和集成:Silicon Labs 的时钟发生器配备了许多可简化设计的功能,例如减少差分 PCIe 时钟上 EMI 的扩频功能、音频时钟上的频率选择功能、硬件输出使能控制、多配置文件选择以及带有故障检测的冗余时钟输入功能。实现低抖动性能始终是优先考虑的事项,因此我们的时钟发生器在所有电源引脚上都包含了片上 LDO,从而带来了业界最佳的 PSNR 性能。通过片上实现抑制外部电源和板级噪声极大减少了电源滤波所需的外部组件数量,从而降低了电路板空间和成本,并确保了输出时钟抖动性能符合数据表规格限值。

定制:我们的 ClockBuilder Pro 软件工具可指导您轻松、逐步地生成针对您的时钟树要求的配置文件。配置文件完成后,ClockBuilder Pro 可针对您的设计专门分配一个定制部件号,提供相关数据表附录,并允许您将其保存以备后用。

方框图
查找合适的产品
资源

ClockBuilder Pro

搜索时序汽车开发套件

AN1237:最大限度降低 EMI 的设计指南

PCIe 时钟抖动工具

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

AUTOMOTIVE

Lidar, Radar, and Camera Systems

Frequency Flexible, integrated timing solutions

overview

Automotive Lidar, Radar, and Camera Systems

Vehicles classified as Level3, Level4, or Level5 must be fully aware of the surrounding environment, track the status and movement of objects in all directions, and use that information to navigate the vehicle.  A combination of lidar, radar, and cameras are used to create short, mid, and long range 3D maps of a vehicle’s environment and surrounding objects.  These systems continuously detect and transmit large amounts of real time data via high bandwidth Ethernet to an automated driving central compute platform.  The data is processed using sophisticated software algorithms to identify what the objects are, what the trajectory the objects have, how fast they are moving, ultimately forming instantaneous 3D maps of the vehicle’s surrounding in order to make decisions on how to navigate the vehicle. 

design considerations

Benefits of a silicon-based timing solution

Lidar, radar, and camera systems all have advantages in one way or another, which is why a combination of them is typically used in Level 3, Level 4, and Level 5 enabled automated vehicles. Most designs use high-end FPGA platforms and/or high-speed processor platforms that feature high bandwidth 56G or 112G SerDes. Specialty sensor ICs and high-speed ADCs/DACs are also commonly used, as well as 1GbE or 10GbE to transmit the data to the automated driving central compute platform. Each of these major design components requires integer and fractional related reference clocks ranging from 100 MHz to 1 GHz, at various differential output formats, with RMS phase jitter below 300fs. Meeting these requirements using a quartz oscillator solution provides challenges of reliability, cost, and sourcing. Alternatively, clock generators provide the capability to synthesize a combination of integer and fractional related reference clock frequencies up to 1GHz, feature programmable output format drivers, support RMS phase jitter performance as low as 100 fs, and also provided in-system programming that can be used to alter one or more output clock frequencies in small incremental steps.

We recommend the following when considering timing solutions for your design:

Summarize The Clock Tree: Start by outlining all the reference clocks, jitter performance requirements, and associated timing features needed within your design. This is commonly known as a clock tree. Each individual design will have its own unique clock tree, but will commonly need a combination of single-ended clocks and differential clocks with different levels of jitter performance requirements. Having this summary will be useful when starting to identify a timing solution.

Frequency Flexibility: Lidar designs commonly use high bandwidth FPGAs, ASICs, and high-speed ADCs, all of which require low-jitter, high frequency (100MHz - 1GHz) differential output clocks. Silicon Labs' patented MultiSynth output divider technology provides 0ppm synthesis error on both integer and fractional related output frequencies on up to 12 outputs while maintaining industry best jitter performance. Each output can be individually set to a specific frequency and format level, providing the ability to consolidate high-frequency clocks into a single clock generator. Our clock generators also offer in-system I2C frequency programming, as well as a DCO mode, providing the capability to fine-tune the reference clocks.

Reliability: Quartz crystal and oscillator components are mechanical devices that are prone to shock and vibration failure. Even AEC-Q200 rated devices have high FIT rates, oftentimes being the components with the highest point of failure rating in system design. Rather than adding more and more quartz crystal and oscillator components to a system design not only increases the bill of materials and total system cost but also increases reliability concerns as quartz elements are prone to shock and vibration failure. A better approach is to integrate that quartz crystal and oscillator components into a clock generator solution. Taking this approach greatly reduces the FIT rate associated with the timing portion of the design, while also providing numerous other features that can be beneficial to clock tree design, such as spread spectrum for EMI/EMC mitigation, frequency selection, and fault monitoring.

Feature Set and Integration: Silicon Labs’ clock generators come equipped with many features that can simplify your design, such as spread spectrum for EMI reduction on differential PCIe clocks, frequency selection capability on audio clocks, hardware output enable control, multi-profile selection, and redundant clock input capability with fault detection. Achieving low jitter performance is always a high priority, so our clock generators include on-chip LDOs on all power pins, resulting in industry best PSNR performance. Suppressing external power supply and board-level noise on-chip greatly reduces the number of external components needed for power filtering, reducing board space and cost, and ensures that output clock jitter performance meetings the datasheet specification limits.

Customization: Our ClockBuilder Pro software tool guides you through an easy, step-by-step process to generate a configuration file specific to your clock tree requirements. When the configuration file is complete, ClockBuilder Pro can assign a customized part number specific to your design, provide an associated datasheet addendum, and allow you to save it for future use.

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT
rESOURCES

ClockBuilder Pro

Search Timing Automotive Development Kits

AN1237: Design Guidelines for Minimizing EMI

PCIe Clock Jitter Tool

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the Right Products
Resources
Close
Loading Results