汽车

汽车网络网关

适用于汽车网络网关的符合 AEC-Q100 标准的时序解决方案

简介

汽车网络网关

以太网作为当前和未来汽车设计的主网络接口应运而生。 更低带宽用于信息娱乐和集成的驾驶舱处理单元,而更高带宽用于高级驾驶辅助系统 (ADAS) 和自主车辆处理平台电子控制单元 (ECU)。 汽车网络网关的主要功能是桥接车辆内各种 ECU 之间的通信路径,以支持 CAN、LIN、以太网以及其他协议。由于 ECU 节点数量和网络复杂性的增加,系统设计者正在采用带有更高带宽网络处理器的硬件平台,以实现车内安全、低延迟通信。

设计注意事项

设计汽车网关时需要了解的知识

随着以太网在整个车辆内的持续激增,汽车网络网关正在采用带有更高带宽和更多端口的网络处理器平台。最新的网络处理器发生器使用高速 SerDes 来支持增强的处理能力、多接口支持和高速 PCIe-Express 数据路径互连,所有这些都需要具有更严格抖动性能、采用单端和差分输出格式并具有更高输出时钟频率的参考时钟。

高带宽网络处理器的使用不仅增加了汽车网关设计所需的参考时钟数量,而且还需要混合变化频率的差分和单端时钟组合,其中一些参考时钟的抖动性能要求更为严格(< 300fs RMS),以满足高速 SerDes 和 PCIe-Express 接口所需。采用石英晶体或振荡器解决方案来满足这一系列要求的成本变得越来越高,同时还会增加物料表组件的数量和 PCB 面积。将所有这些系统参考时钟要求整合到一个时钟发生器中,不仅可提供减少组件数量和 PCB 面积以及节约成本的优势,同时还可提供石英晶体或振荡器解决方案无法实现的更多功能。时钟发生器能够在各种不同输出频率下提供单端和差分输出,并且所有时钟发生器的抖动性能非常低。还可使用多种其他功能,例如减少 EMI/EMC 的扩频功能、频率选择、系统内可编程性以及输出使能控制。我们建议您考虑以下方面:

总结时钟树:首先梳理所有参考时钟、性能水平以及设计中所需的相关时序功能。这通常称为时钟树。每种单独设计都有其独特的时钟树,但通常需要具有不同等级抖动性能要求的单端时钟和差分时钟。开始确定时序解决方案时对时钟树进行总结将非常有用。

可靠性:石英晶体和振荡器组件都是易受冲击和发生振动故障的机械设备。甚至连符合 AEC-Q200 标准的设备都具有较高 FIT 失效率,且通常是系统设计中失效率最高的组件。汽车以太网交换机和网络网关设计通常需要 8 个或更多参考时钟。在系统设计中添加越来越多的石英晶体和振荡器组件不仅会增加物料表和系统总成本,还会增加可靠性方面的顾虑,因为石英元件易受冲击和发生振动故障。一种更好的方法是将石英晶体和振荡器组件的功能集成到一个时钟发生器解决方案中,采取这种方法会大大降低与设计时序部分相关的 FIT 失效率,同时还会提供有益于时钟树设计的许多其他功能,例如减少 EMI/EMC 的扩频功能、频率选择和故障监控。

频率灵活性:最新一代的汽车以太网交换机和网络网关平台需要在不同输出电压下具有单端和差分输出格式级别的变化频率的参考时钟,且所有参考时钟要求低抖动。Silicon Labs 获得专利的 MultiSynth 输出分频技术在高达 12 输出的整数和分数相关频率上均可提供 0 ppm 合成错误,同时保持业界最佳的抖动性能。每种时钟输出都可以单独设置为特定的输出格式级别,并且可以连结不同的输出电压水平,从而轻松满足您的系统设计要求。

安全合规性:在 ADAS 设计或模块设计中符合 ISO26262 标准和汽车安全完整性等级 (ASIL) 非常重要。在这些应用中,可能需要参考时钟冗余和/或健康监测来达到系统级安全目标。我们符合 AEC-Q100 标准的 Si5332 时钟发生器包含石英晶体或振荡器解决方案无法提供的故障监控和检测功能,例如针对冗余的主参考输入和备份参考输入、输入参考健康状况和状态监测、参考信号损耗故障检测指示器、用于与 ASIL 系统安全管理器 IC 通信的硬件接口引脚以及从主输入源迁移至二次输入源的能力。

EMI/EMC: 大多数网络网关时钟树由单端和差分参考时钟组成。单端 LVCMOS 参考时钟是高速数字设计中的常见发射源,并且通常是能否满足 CISPR25 Class-4 和 Class-5 发射要求的关键所在。Silicon Labs 提供了一种克服这一挑战的独特方式,即在我们的 AEC-Q100 Si5332-AM 时钟发生器中使用互补性 LVCMOS 输出驱动器。系统设计者可以通过遵循 AN1237 中建议的设计指南,减少 LVCMOS 时钟产生的发射。

功能集和集成:除了以上提到的安全功能和互补性 LVCMOS 功能外,我们的 Si5332 时钟发生器还配备了许多可以简化设计的其他功能,例如减少 EMI 的扩频功能、频率选择功能、硬件输出使能控制以及多配置文件选择。实现低抖动性能始终是优先考虑的事项,因此我们的时钟发生器在所有电源引脚上都包含了片上 LDO,从而带来了业界最佳的 PSNR 性能。通过片上实现抑制外部电源和板级噪声极大减少了电源滤波所需的外部组件数量,从而降低了电路板空间和成本,并确保了输出时钟抖动性能符合数据表规格限值。

PCIe 时序: PCI-Express 是一种用于级别 3/4/5 ADAS 设计的常用数据总线,这增加了每个 PCIe 端点对低抖动差分参考时钟的需求。我们的 Si5332 可编程时钟发生器、Si5225x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 时钟发生器和 Si5325x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 具有带内部端接的低功耗 HCSL 输出驱动器,能够匹配 85ohm 或 100ohm 传输线路,而无需任何外部端接。正确测量 PCIe 参考时钟上的抖动并不容易,因此为简化流程并消除混淆,我们开发了 PCIe 时钟抖动工具。请访问我们的 PCIe 学习中心,免费下载此工具并详细了解 PCIe 时序。

定制:我们的 ClockBuilder Pro 软件工具可指导您轻松、逐步地生成针对您的时钟树要求的配置文件。配置文件完成后,ClockBuilder Pro 可针对您的设计专门分配一个定制部件号,提供相关数据表附录,并允许您将其保存以备后用。

方框图
查找合适的产品
资源

ClockBuilder Pro

搜索时序汽车开发套件

AN1237:最大限度降低 EMI 的设计指南

PCIe 时钟抖动工具

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

AUTOMOTIVE

Automotive Networking Gateways

AEC-Q100 qualified timing solutions for automotive networking gateways

overview

Automotive Network Gateways

Ethernet has emerged as a primary network interface in current and future automobile designs.  Lower bandwidths are used in infotainment and integrated cockpit processing units, while higher bandwidths are used in advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) and autonomous vehicle processing platform electronic control units (ECUs).  The primary function of the automotive networking gateway is to bridge the communication paths between the various ECUs within the vehicle, supporting CAN, LIN, Ethernet, and other protocols. As the number of ECU nodes and networking complexity scales, system designers are adopting hardware platforms with higher bandwidth networking processors that provide secure, low latency communications within the vehicle.

design considerations

What you need to know when designing an automotive gateway

As Ethernet continues to proliferate throughout the vehicle, automotive networking gateways are adopting network processor platforms that offer higher bandwidth, and a greater number of ports. The latest generator of network processors use high-speed SerDes to support increased processing power, multi-interface support, and high-speed PCIe-Express data path interconnects, all of which require reference clocks with tighter jitter performance, both single-ended and differential output formats, and higher output clock frequencies.

The use of high bandwidth networking processors not only increases the number of reference clocks needed in automotive gateway designs but also requires a combination of both differentials as well as single-ended clocks, at a mix of varying frequencies, some of which have tight jitter performance requirements (< 300fs RMS) to meet the needs of high-speed SerDes and PCIe-Express interfaces. Satisfying this set of requirements becomes increasingly more expensive when using a quartz crystal or oscillator solution, while at the same time increasing the number of bill of material components, and increasing PCB area. Consolidating all of the system reference clock requirements into a clock generator provides the benefits of component reduction, PCB area reduction, and cost savings, while at the same time provides added functionality that cannot be realized by a quartz crystal or oscillator solution. Clock generators are capable of providing both single-ended and differential outputs at various different output frequencies, all at very low jitter performance. There are also numerous other features that can be used, such as the spread spectrum for EMI/EMC mitigation, frequency selection, in-system programmability, and output enable control. We recommend considering the following:

Summarize The Clock Tree: Start by outlining all the reference clocks, performance levels, and associated timing features needed within your design. This is commonly known as a clock tree. Each individual design will have its own unique clock tree, but will commonly need a combination of single-ended clocks and differential clocks with different levels of jitter performance requirements. Having this summary will be useful when starting to identify a timing solution.

Reliability: Quartz crystal and oscillator components are mechanical devices that are prone to shock and vibration failure. Even AEC-Q200 rated devices have high FIT rates, oftentimes being the components with the highest point of failure rating in system design. Automotive Ethernet switch and networking gateway designs often require 8 or more reference clocks. Adding more and more quartz crystal and oscillator components to a system design not only increases the bill of materials and total system cost but also increases reliability concerns as quartz elements are prone to shock and vibration failure. A better approach is to integrate the functionality of that quartz crystal and oscillator components into a clock generator solution, which greatly reduces the FIT rate associated with the timing portion of the design, while also providing numerous other features that can be beneficial to clock tree design, such as spread spectrum for EMI/EMC mitigation, frequency selection, and fault monitoring.

Frequency Flexibility: The latest generation of automotive Ethernet switch and networking gateway platforms require reference clocks of varying frequencies, in both single-ended and differential output output format levels, at different output voltages, all with low jitter requirements. Silicon Labs' patented MultiSynth output divider technology provides 0 ppm synthesis error on both integer and fractional related output frequencies on up to 12 outputs while maintaining industry best jitter performance. Each clock output can be individually set to a specific output format level and can be tied to different output voltage levels, easily aligning to your system design requirements.

Safety Compliance: ISO26262 and Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) compliance are of high importance in ADAS designs or blocks of designs. In these applications, reference clock redundancy and/or health monitoring may be required to meet system-level safety goals. Our AEC-Q100 qualified Si5332 clock generators include fault monitoring and detection features that are not available in quartz crystal or oscillator solutions, such as primary and backup reference inputs for redundancy, input reference health and status monitoring, loss of reference signal fault detection indicators, hardware interface pins to communicate with an ASIL system safety manager IC, and the ability to migrate from a primary input source to secondary input source.

EMI/EMC: Most networking gateway clock trees consist of both single-ended and differential reference clocks. Single-ended LVCMOS reference clocks are common sources of emissions in a high-speed digital design and are often a key concern in meeting CISPR25 Class-4 and Class-5 emissions requirements. Silicon Labs provides a unique way to overcome this challenge through the use of complementary LVCMOS output drivers in our AEC-Q100 Si5332-AM clock generators. By following the recommended design guidelines in AN1237, system designers can mitigate emissions generated by LVCMOS clocks.

Feature Set and Integration: In addition to the safety features and complementary LVCMOS features noted above, our Si5332 clock generators come equipped with many other features that can simplify your design, such as the spread spectrum for EMI reduction, frequency selection capability, hardware output enable control and multi-profile selection. Achieving low jitter performance is always a high priority, so our clock generators include on-chip LDOs on all power pins, resulting in industry best PSNR performance. Suppressing external power supply and board-level noise on-chip greatly reduces the number of external components needed for power filtering, reducing board space and cost, and ensures that output clock jitter performance meetings the datasheet specification limits.

PCIe Timing: PCI-Express is a common data bus used in Level3/4/5 ADAS designs, which adds the need for low-jitter differential reference clocks for each PCIe endpoint. Our Si5332 programmable clock generators, Si5225x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 clock generators, and Si5325x PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 feature low-power HCSL output drivers with internal termination, with the ability to match either an 85ohm or 100ohm transmission lines without any external termination. Properly measuring jitter on a PCIe reference clock is not straightforward, so to simplify the process and eliminate confusion, we developed the PCIe Clock Jitter Tool. Download the tool for free and learn more about PCIe timing by visiting our PCIe Learning Center.

Customization: Our ClockBuilder Pro software tool guides you through an easy, step-by-step process to generate a configuration file specific to your clock tree requirements. When the configuration file is complete, ClockBuilder Pro can assign a customized part number specific to your design, provide an associated datasheet addendum, and allow you to save it for future use.

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT
rESOURCES

ClockBuilder Pro

Search Timing Automotive Development Kits

AN1237: Design Guidelines for Minimizing EMI

PCIe Clock Jitter Tool

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the Right Products
Resources
Close
Loading Results