智能工业

HMI - 人机界面

无线技术改变了工业设备的用户体验

简介

适用于工业应用的无线人机界面 (HMI)

工业现场设备传统上使用复杂的本地用户界面和电缆连接的 PC 程序来进行配置、编程和诊断。蓝牙是未来 HMI 的理想技术。使用 Silicon Labs 预认证的蓝牙模块和移动应用工具,可简化用户体验现代化过程,加速上市时间。

设计注意事项

无线技术如何改变用户体验?

工业现场设备引入 HMI 带来很大的设计挑战。传统上,设计者受到物理空间的限制,需要考虑环境条件,并且还需要对外部连接的任何端口进行电流隔离以确保安全。为了解决这些挑战,设计者不得不进行权衡,因为在设计过程中会做出很多妥协,因此可能会对用户体验产生不利影响。复杂的用户界面可导致较差的感知使用性,因为在配置、操作或维护方面存在困难,用户可能会选择不使用设备的全部功能。

蓝牙技术在工业现场设备中的应用仍处于初期阶段,但由于其优于传统设计方法的优点,正逐渐获得更多的应用空间。现代蓝牙预认证模块包含构建直观的用户体验所需的一切。此外,这些模块的封装很小,这意味着它们可集成到空间有限的设备中。这些模块的尺寸最小为 6 x 6 mm。蓝牙模块的功耗进行了优化,达到了可用于电池供电设备的水平。

蓝牙是一种无线技术,这意味着现场设备和用户终端设备之间的外部连接无需电流隔离。这可大大降低材料成本。因为需要进行安全性验证的暴露的接口更少,还减少了测试和验证。由于蓝牙技术的广泛采用,使得各种便携式设备能够作为设备的用户接口。当设计者不再局限于几个按钮和小型显示器时,他们就可以向客户交付突出产品优点的用户界面,以及实现比竞争对手更好的差异化。

工业设备可以安装在具有挑战性的环境中,在这样的环境中,设备可暴露在灰尘、盐水、潮湿和其他条件下。需要对穿过设备外壳的所有进口进行精心设计和保护。使用基于蓝牙的 HMI,可最大限度减少物理连接器、按钮和屏幕,从而简化设备设计。从客户的角度来看,他们需要维护的事项更少,从而节约了成本。现场设备也可能安装在难以到达的地点,这就使得传统的基于缆线的接口使用起来很麻烦。通过蓝牙,用户可以使用手持设备从安全位置远程连接到设备。

由于 RS-232 串行通信的通用性和可用组件的广泛性,工业现场设备的外部连接常基于这种通信方式。这些类型的接口为实现无线带来了绝佳的机会。蓝牙模块以标准的 UART 作为输入,不需要任何蓝牙编程知识,是实现 HMI 创新的最佳选择。除了预认证的模块外,作为主要用户界面的移动应用程序也是影响上市时间和开发成本的关键因素。提取蓝牙操作的预先确定的移动应用程序框架大大简化了设计过程,并减少了开发时间。

Silicon Labs 为人机界面应用提供广泛的预认证蓝牙模块组合,包括用于空间受限设计的世界上最小的系统级封装蓝牙模块。我们的开发工具包括旨在加速应用程序开发的移动集成软件。我们的 Bluetooth Xpress 产品及其移动应用程序框架非常适合于将现有人机串行接口转换为可靠的、永不过时的用户体验。

方框图
查找合适的产品


Xpress

无线 Xpress BGX13P 入门套件 (SLEXP8027A)

了解更多

蓝牙、Zigbee、Thread 和多协议

EFR32xG21 无线 Gecko 入门套件 (SLWSTK6006A)

了解更多

蓝牙模块

EFR32BG 蓝牙模块入门套件 (SLWSTK6101D)

了解更多

Bluetooth SoC

EFR32BG 蓝牙 SoC 入门套件 (SLWSTK6020B)

了解更多
资源

适用于 IoT 开发人员的预编程蓝牙和 Wi-Fi® 模块的优势

Silicon Labs 蓝牙低功耗 (LE) 和网状网络软件

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

SMART INDUSTRY

HMI - Human Machine Interface

Wireless technology transforming the user experience in industrial devices

overview

Wireless human-machine interface (HMI) for industrial applications

Industrial field devices are traditionally provisioned, programmed and diagnosed using complex local user interfaces and cable-connected PC programs. Bluetooth is an ideal technology for future HMIs. Using Silicon Labs pre-certified Bluetooth modules and mobile application tools allow streamlined user experience modernization and fast time to market.  

design considerations

How wireless technology can transform your user experience

A HMI for an industrial field device introduces imposes a great design challenge. Traditionally, the designers are limited in physical space, they need to consider the environmental conditions, and any ports for external connections require galvanic isolation for safety. To resolve these challenges, the designers have to make trade-offs that can adversely impact the user experience because of the multiple compromises made during the design process. Complex user interfaces lead to poor perceived usability and the users may opt not to use the full capability of the device because of difficulty in configuring, operating or maintaining.

The use of Bluetooth technology in industrial field devices is still in its infancy, however, it is gradually gaining more footprint due to its superior benefits over the traditional design approaches. Modern Bluetooth pre-certified modules include everything that is needed to build an intuitive user experience. The modules come also in very small form factors, which means that they can be integrated into even space-constrained devices. The modules sizes are starting at 6 x 6 mm. The power consumption of Bluetooth modules is optimized to a level, where it is a feasible option for battery-operated devices.

Bluetooth is a wireless technology, which means that external connections between the field device and the user's end device do not require galvanic isolation. This can provide substantial reductions in materials costs. It also reduces the testing and validation as there are less exposed interfaces that would have to be verified for safety. Because of the wide adoption of Bluetooth technology, it enables use of various portable devices as the user interface to the device. When the designers are no longer restricted to a couple of pushbuttons and a small display, they can deliver user interfaces to the customers that highlight the product benefits and allow better differentiation against the competition.

Industrial devices can be installed in challenging environments, where the devices can be exposed to dust, salt water, humidity, and other conditions. Any inlet that goes through the device enclosure needs to be carefully designed and protected. With a Bluetooth-based HMI, the physical connectors, pushbuttons, and screens can be minimized simplifying the device design. From the customer point of view, they have fewer things to maintain, which drives cost savings for them. The field devices may also be installed in hard to reach locations, which makes conventional cable-based interfaces cumbersome to use. With Bluetooth, the user can take a remote connection to the device from a safe position using a handheld device.

Often the external connections from an industrial field device are based on RS-232 serial communications due to its versatility and widely available components. These types of interfaces present an excellent opportunity for wireless. Bluetooth modules that take standard UART as an input and require zero Bluetooth programming knowledge are an excellent option for HMI innovation. In addition to the pre-certified modules, the mobile applications used as the primary user interfaces are a key factor in the time-to-market and development costs. Pre-determined mobile application frameworks that abstract the Bluetooth operations substantially simplify the design process and reduces the development time.

Silicon Labs offers a broad portfolio of pre-certified Bluetooth modules for human machine interface applications, including the world’s smallest system-in-package Bluetooth module for space constrained designs. Our developer tools include mobile integration software designed to expedite application development. Our Bluetooth Xpress products and their mobile application frameworks are ideal for transforming an existing human-machine serial interface into a robust, future-proof user experience.

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT


Xpress

Wireless Xpress BGX13P Starter Kit (SLEXP8027A)

Learn More

Bluetooth, Zigbee, Thread and Multiprotocol

EFR32xG21 Wireless Gecko Starter Kit (SLWSTK6006A)

Learn More

Bluetooth Modules

EFR32BG Bluetooth Module Starter Kit (SLWSTK6101D)

Learn More

Bluetooth SoCs

EFR32BG Bluetooth SoC Starter Kit (SLWSTK6020B)

Learn More
rESOURCES

The Advantages of Pre-programmed Bluetooth & Wi-Fi® Modules for IoT Developers

Silicon Labs Bluetooth Low Energy (LE) and Mesh Software

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the right products
Resources
Close
Loading Results