数据中心

加速器卡

用于加速器卡的频率灵活、低抖动时钟发生器

简介

用于各种加速器卡设计的定制时钟发生器

加速器卡已针对处理特定应用工作负载进行了优化,增强了服务器的处理能力。通过在服务器主板或背板使用标准 PCI-Express (PCIe) 连接器,加速器卡可利用 GPU、FPGA 或专门的 ASIC,这需要为 PCIe Gen3/4/5 或 NVLink 数据总线、28G/56G SerDes 以及通用系统功能使用一系列低抖动参考时钟。 我们广泛的可编程时钟发生器解决方案组合可以轻松定制,以便将加速器卡设计中所需的所有参考时钟合并到单一 IC 解决方案中,从而减少组件数量、PCB 面积和整体系统成本。

设计注意事项

为加速器卡设计确定合适的时钟发生器 

要为加速器卡选择合适的时钟发生器,首先要梳理设计所需的所有参考时钟、性能水平以及相关时序功能(常称为时钟树)。 每个加速器卡都有自己独特的时钟树,但几乎所有的加速器卡都可以使用 Silicon Labs 的可编程时钟发生器解决方案来实现。 在梳理时钟树和选择理想的时钟发生器解决方案时,我们建议您考虑以下方面:

性能:RMS 相位抖动是选择时钟发生器之前要审查的格外重要的参数。 随着数据速率和带宽水平的提高,参考时钟的 RMS 相位抖动要求提高了一倍,通常会将系统抖动容许量减半。 加速器卡使用 PCIe Gen4/5 数据总线以及 56G/112G SerDes 的 FPGA/SoC/ASIC 都需要具有 <500fs RMS 相位抖动的参考时钟。 我们建议您按照重要性对时钟树进行总结,将 RMS 相位抖动要求最严格的时钟列在顶部。 Silicon Labs 的时钟发生器根据 RMS 相位抖动性能水平进行分类,便于您选择符合特定要求的合适器件。

频率灵活性: 加速器卡设计通常需要不同频率的组合(在不同输出电压下具有不同输出格式级别)。Silicon Labs 获得专利的 MultiSynth 输出分频技术可在高达 12 输出的整数和分数相关输出频率上提供 0ppm 合成误差,同时保持处于业界前列的抖动性能。可将每项输出分别设置为特定的输出格式等级、特定的频率和输出电压等级。每个输出的频率不需要相互关联。

功能集和集成:Silicon Labs 的时钟发生器配备了许多可简化加速器卡设计的功能,例如用于在 PCIe 时钟上降低 EMI 的扩频功能、频率选择功能、输出使能控制、多配置文件选择,以及集成晶体参考源。 我们知道抖动性能非常重要,因此我们的时钟发生器在所有的电源引脚上都纳入了片上 LDO,从而实现处于业界前列的 PSNR 性能。 通过片上实现抑制外部电源和板级噪声极大减少了电源滤波所需的外部组件数量,从而降低了电路板空间和成本,并确保了输出时钟抖动性能符合数据表规格限值。

定制:我们的 ClockBuilder Pro 软件工具可指导您针对自己的时钟树要求轻松、逐步地生成特定的配置文件。 配置文件完成后,ClockBuilder Pro 可针对您的设计专门分配一个定制部件号,提供相关数据表附录,并允许您将其保存以备后用。

供应情况: 在短时间内采购足够的组件满足原型或生产构建并非易事。 我们采用以解决方案为导向的方法开发灵活、可编程的芯片,此类芯片可通过 ClockBuilder Pro 轻松配置,从而在制造流程中实现无缝集成,以在 2 周内为您提供预编程样品,并在短短 4 周内完成生产。 我们的现场编程器还能够即刻对空白设备进行编程,或使用 I2C 重新配置设备。

方框图
查找合适的产品


通用振荡器评估套件

Si5xxUC-EVB 仅通过一块评估板就能评估 Silicon Labs 的任何 XO 或 VCXO

了解更多

Si5332 8 输出外部晶体时钟发生器评估套件

Si5332-8EX-EVB 可实现轻松从 ClockBuilder Pro 设备配置转移至手动性能评估。

了解更多

Si5341 时钟发生器评估套件

Si534x-D-EVB 可实现轻松从 ClockBuilder Pro 设备配置转移至手动性能评估。

了解更多

Si5391A 时钟发生器评估套件

Si5391A-A-EVB 可实现轻松从 ClockBuilder Pro 设备配置转移至手动性能评估。

了解更多

Si52204 4 输出端 PCIe Gen 1/2/3/4/5 时钟发生器评估套件

该 Si52204-EVB 评估板让用户能够测量 PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 和 SRIS 的抖动性能、功耗和信号完整性。

了解更多
资源

ClockBuilder Pro 软件

PCIe 时钟抖动工具

振荡器相位噪声查找工具

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Data Centers

Accelerator Cards

Frequency flexible, low jitter clock generators for accelerator cards

overview

Customized clock generators for any accelerator card design

Accelerator cards provide servers with added processing power optimized to handle application specific workloads. Using a standard PCI-Express (PCIe) connector to a server motherboard or backplane, accelerator cards utilize GPUs, FPGAs, or specialized ASICs , which require an array of low jitter reference clocks for PCIe Gen3/4/5 or NVLink data buses, 28G/56G SerDes, and generic system functions.  Our broad portfolio of programmable clock generator solutions can be easily customized to consolidate all reference clocks needed in an accelerator card design into a single IC solution to reduce component count, PCB area, and overall system cost.   

design considerations

Identify the right clock generator for your accelerator card design 

Selecting the optimal clock generator for an accelerator card starts with an outline of all the reference clocks, performance levels, and associated timing features needed within the design, commonly known as a clock tree.  Each accelerator card will have its own unique clock tree, but nearly all of them can be fulfilled using a Silicon Labs' programmable clock generator solution.  We recommend considering the following when outlining your clock tree and selecting the ideal clock generator:

Performance: RMS phase jitter is the most important parameter to review before selecting a clock generator.  As data rate and bandwidth levels increase, the RMS phase jitter requirements on reference clocks get twice as rigorous, oftentimes cutting system jitter budgets in half.  Accelerator cards using PCIe Gen4/5 data buses, as well as an FPGA/SoC/ASIC with 56G/112G SerDes, all of which require reference clocks with <500fs RMS phase jitter.  We recommend summarizing your clock tree in order of importance, listing the clocks with the most stringent RMS phase jitter requirements at the top.  Silicon Labs’ clock generators are classified by RMS phase jitter performance level, making it easy to select the right device matching your specific requirements.

Frequency Flexibility: Accelerator card designs commonly need a combination of different frequencies, with different output format levels, at different output voltages. Silicon Labs' patented MultiSynth output divider technology provides 0ppm synthesis error on both integer and fractional related output frequencies on up to 12 outputs while maintaining industry best jitter performance. Each output can be individually set to a specific output format level, specific frequency and output voltage level. The frequency at each output does not need to be related to one another. 

Feature Set and Integration: Silicon Labs’ clock generators come equipped with many features that can simplify your accelerator card design, such as the spread spectrum for EMI reduction on PCIe clocks, frequency selection capability, output enable control, multi-profile selection, and integrated crystal reference source.  We know that jitter performance is very important, so our clock generators include on-chip LDOs on all power pins, resulting in industry best PSNR performance.  Suppressing external power supply and board-level noise on-chip greatly reduces the number of external components needed for power filtering, reducing board space and cost, and ensures that output clock jitter performance meetings the datasheet specification limits.

Customization: Our ClockBuilder Pro software tool guides you through an easy, step-by-step process to generate a configuration file specific to your clock tree requirements.  When the configuration file is complete, ClockBuilder Pro can assign a customized part number specific to your design, provide an associated datasheet addendum, and allow you to save it for future use.

Availability: Sourcing components on short notice to meet prototype or production builds can be challenging.  Our solutions-oriented approach to developing flexible, programmable silicon that can be easily configured using ClockBuilder Pro allows for seamless integration within our manufacturing flow to support pre-programmed samples in less than 2 weeks, and production quantities in as little as 4 weeks.  Our field programmer also provides the capability to program blank devices on a moment’s notice, or re-configure a device using I2C. 

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT


Universal Oscillator Evaluation Kit

The Si5xxUC-EVB evaluates any Silicon Labs XO or VCXO with one board

Learn More

Si5332 8-Output with External Crystal Clock Generator Evaluation Kit

The Si5332-8EX-EVB makes it easy to move from ClockBuilder Pro device configuration to hands-on performance evaluation.

Learn More

Si5341 Clock Generator Evaluation Kit

The Si534x-D-EVB makes it easy to move from ClockBuilder Pro device configuration to hands-on performance evaluation.

Learn More

Si5391A Clock Generator Evaluation Kit

The Si5391A-A-EVB makes it easy to move from ClockBuilder Pro device configuration to hands-on performance evaluation.

Learn More

Si52204 4-Output PCIe Gen 1/2/3/4/5 Clock Generator Evaluation Kit

This Si52204-EVB evaluation board allows users to measure jitter performance for PCIe Gen1/2/3/4/5 and SRIS, power consumption, and signal integrity.

Learn More
rESOURCES

ClockBuilder Pro Software

Oscillator Phase Noise Look-Up Tool

PCIe Clock Jitter Tool

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the right products
Resources
Close
Loading Results