数据中心

100G/400G/800G PAM-4 和相干光学模块

Ultra Series 振荡器非常适用于 100G/400G/800G PAM-4 和相干光学模块

简介

Ultra Series 振荡器

光学模块可在数据中心交换网络内部以及与外部核心和城域电信网络之间实现高速数据路径连接。 相干光学 DSP 适用于较长距离,而基于 PAM-4 的 DSP 则已针对较短距离进行成本优化,主要用于数据中心交换网络。 在过去 5 年中,组件高度集成到 DSP 中,使得模块的尺寸大幅减小。 为 DSP 选择高性能、低抖动的参考时钟源对于大程度提高带宽速度和降低误码率至关重要。 我们的 Ultra Series 振荡器产品组合经过精心设计,符合最新一代 112G PAM-4 SerDes 与相干光学 DSP 所需的严苛 RMS 相位抖动规格,支持宽频率范围并采用小封装。

设计注意事项

100G/400G/800G 光学模块设计所需了解的知识 

参考时钟频率要求因 DSP 供应商和平台而异。 Silicon Labs Si54x 振荡器和 Si56x VCXO 支持很广的频率范围(最高可达 3 GHz),在行业处于领先地位。某些 DSP 平台受益于采用高频参考时钟(通常超过 2 GHz)。Silicon Labs 的 Si54x 产品支持高达 3 GHz 的输出时钟,尺寸小至 2.5 mm x 3.2 mm,是市场上能达到这些频率的尺寸最小的产品。

设计 400G/800G 产品时,RMS 相位抖动性能这一因素很是重要。使用较高的参考时钟频率可减小噪声折叠,从而提供更好的抖动性能。Silicon Labs 在 Ultra Series 中提供两个级别的 RMS 相位抖动性能,包括低于 100fs RMS 的性能。 多数 DSP 供应商将指定 156.25 MHz 的差分参考时钟,但 DSP 也可以选择接受 312.5 MHz 的差分时钟,改善整个系统级别的抖动余裕容许量。 通过我们的相位噪声查找工具,Silicon Labs 可以轻松查看任何振荡器的实际相位抖动性能。只需选择部件编号、频率和格式,工具即可提供设备实际性能的相位噪声图。

根据 DSP 的设计和实现,相干光学设计可能会受益于在所需 ppm 范围内具有精确频率调谐能力的输入参考时钟。 Silicon Labs Si545/9 振荡器配备 I2C 接口,可提供分辨率小于 1ppb 的系统内频率调谐能力。 或者,Si569 Ultra Series VCXO 通过使用受控电压输入参考提供类似的功能。

电源和其他板级噪声会对振荡器输出的 RMS 相位抖动性能产生很大影响,通常会超过光学模块 DSP 供应商设定的上限。 Silicon Labs 在整个振荡器产品组合的所有电源引脚上都使用片上 LDO,从而抑制电源或板级噪声,并防止其影响输出时钟抖动性能。 经过对 Silicon Labs Si54x 振荡器及主要竞争对手产品进行简单分析,结果清楚地展示了使用片上 LDO 的优势。 向所有三个设备的电源引脚注入同等噪声,对于竞争对手设备而言,噪声会显著影响输出时钟抖动性能,从而超过 DSP 供应商要求的限制,而对于 Silicon Labs 的 Si54x 而言,输出时钟抖动性能则保持稳定并处于规格范围内。

方框图
查找合适的产品


通用振荡器评估套件

Si5xxUC-EVB 仅通过一块评估板就能评估 Silicon Labs 的任何 XO 或 VCXO

了解更多
资源

了解您的 XO:与挑选合适的振荡器有关的四个问题

振荡器相位噪声查找工具

时序实用工具 - 创建您自己的部件编号

简介
设计注意事项
方块图
查找合适的产品
资源
关闭
正在加载结果
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Data Centers

100G/400G/800G PAM-4 and Coherent Optical Modules

Ultra Series of oscillators ideally suited for 100G/400G/800G PAM-4 and Coherent optical modules

overview

Ultra Series Oscillators

Optical modules enable high-speed data path connections within the data center switching network, as well as to the external core and metro telecommunications network.  PAM-4 based DSPs are primarily used within the data center switching network as they are cost-optimized for shorter ranges, while coherent optics DSPs are better suited for longer distances.  Module form factors have greatly reduced in size over the past 5 years, fueled by a high degree of component integration into the DSP.  Selecting a high performance, low-jitter reference clock source to the DSP is essential to maximizing bandwidth speeds and minimizing bit error rate.  Our portfolio of Ultra Series Oscillators is designed to meet the rigorous RMS phase jitter specifications required by the latest generation 112G PAM-4 SerDes and coherent optical DSPs, supporting wide frequency ranges and offered in small form factor packaging.  

design considerations

What you need to know when designing 100G/400G/800G optical modules 

Reference clock frequency requirements vary by DSP vendor and platform.  Silicon Labs' Si54x oscillators and Si56x VCXOs support the industry's widest frequency range of up to 3 GHz.  Some DSP platforms benefit from using high-frequency reference clocks, oftentimes in excess of 2 GHz.  Silicon Labs' Si54x products support up to 3 GHz output clocks in package sizes down to 2.5 mm x 3.2 mm, making them the smallest products in the market capable of reaching those frequencies.

RMS phase jitter performance is of the highest importance when designing 400G/800G products. Using a higher reference clock frequency provides for better jitter performance because there is less noise folding. Silicon Labs offers two levels of RMS phase jitter performance in our Ultra Series, capable of delivering performance below 100fs RMS.  Most DSP vendors will specify a 156.25 MHz differential reference clock, however, it may be possible for the DSP to alternatively accept a 312.5 MHz differential clock, which could improve the overall system-level jitter margin budget.  Silicon Labs makes it easy to see the actual phase jitter performance of any of our oscillators through our Phase Noise Look-Up Tool. Simply select the part number, frequency, and format and the tool provides a phase noise plot of the actual performance of the device.

Depending on the DSP design and implementation, coherent optics designs may benefit from an input reference clock that has granular frequency tuning capability across a set ppm range that may be required.  Silicon Labs Si545/9 oscillators come equipped with an I2C interface, providing in-system frequency tuning capabilities with <1ppb resolution.  Alternatively, the Si569 Ultra Series VCXO provides similar capabilities using a controlled voltage input reference.

Power supply and other board-level noise can significantly impact the RMS phase jitter performance of an oscillator output, oftentimes exceeding maximum limits set by optical module DSP vendors.  Silicon Labs includes on-chip LDO's on all power pins of the entire oscillator portfolio, which suppress power supply or board-level noise and prevent it from affecting output clock jitter performance.  Simple analysis performed on Silicon Labs' Si54x oscillators, as well as leading competitor products, clearly shows the advantages of having on-chip LDOs.  The same level of noise injected into the power pin of all three devices significantly impacts the output clock jitter performance of the competing devices, exceeding the limits required by DSP vendors, while the jitter performance of the Silicon Labs' Si54x remains stable and within specification. 

block diagram
FIND THE RIGHT PRODUCT


Universal Oscillator Evaluation Kit

The Si5xxUC-EVB evaluates any Silicon Labs XO or VCXO with one board

Learn More
rESOURCES

Know Your XO: Four Questions for Picking the Right Oscialltor

Oscillator Phase Noise Look-Up Tool

Timing Utility - Create Your Own Part Number

Overview
Design Considerations
Block Diagram
Find the right products
Resources
Close
Loading Results