以 MCU 为核心的便携式心脏监测仪

Silicon Labs 微处理器是新型动态心脏监测仪的核心,该监测仪可连续运行长达 14 天,需要高性能和相对较低的功耗。心脏监测仪已经问世一个多世纪。然而,心脏电生理学家 Gust H. Bardy 博士对准确捕获心律失常的能力信心不足。当他的妻子 Lorene 生病并出现心律问题时,他对此更加怀疑了。无法清晰准确地记录她的各种心律失常。她卒于 2012 年 4 月 26 日心脏骤停,这是更广泛的心脏和血管失常的结果。一年后,Bardy 博士开始踏上了提高动态心律监测仪的信号质量和诊断准确性的旅程,这既是一项公共卫生使命,也是为了纪念 Lorene。此时,他推出了 Bardy Diagnostics,并聘请了一支小型工程师团队,将心律诊断精度的目标转化为监测心脏的设备的电路板。大部分工作都围绕在记录的心电图中显示更多的细微差别,向团队介绍心律失常的多样性和复杂性,并显著改变和改进了经常与动态心电图监测仪一起使用的软件。

如今,WHO 估计心血管疾病 (CVD) 是全球主要的死亡原因,估计每年夺走 1790 万人的生命。在这些死亡病例中,心律失常占很大的比例。准确快速地识别心律失常风险最高的患者,并确保他们接受适当及时的治疗,可以预防过早死亡。新技术通过解析心脏波形中的较小信号和更精细的细节,提供更具体的诊断,从而提高传统心电图监测设备的准确性和有效性。12

 

使用动态心脏监测仪 CAM 打造更智能的利基市场

准确的诊断始于准确的心电图描记。众所周知,心电图或 ECG/EKG 是一种用于记录心脏电活动的设备。本器械是无创性的,通常包括放置在胸部和四肢皮肤上的电极,以测量心脏的电活动。输出信号可用于确定或检测可能导致心脏骤停、中风或意识丧失的异常心律(即心律失常)。这些监测仪称为长期心电图 (LT-ECG) 监测仪,可佩戴 24/7 长达 14 天,无需更换监测电极,使患者能够淋浴、舒适睡眠和进行锻炼。这与历史悠久的 Holter 监测仪形成鲜明对比,Holter 监测仪只能仅佩戴 1-2 天,配有多根悬垂导线,并采用简单的工程和心律分析。Bardy 博士发明的 CAM™ 贴片是一种提供卓越舒适性和合规性LT-ECG的设备。

Gabriel 表示:“虽然传统的监测仪在检测 R 波(来自心脏的最大电信号)方面非常出色,而且确实是心脏波形的重要组成部分,但仅 R 波不足以诊断许多异常心律。其他波的低振幅偏移中隐藏着许多其他信息。波形形状的微小变化似乎对于帮助人们获得改善健康和管理严重疾病所需的特定治疗至关重要。”

需要优化设计各个级别的 CAM 系统,以捕捉这些微小而微妙的信号。然而,人为因素至关重要,因为该设备对患者的日常活动干扰要最小。

“老实说,和典型的心脏监测仪一样,当您的身体被一圈电缆和传感器包围时,您唯一能去的地方就是躲在卧室里。” 

从 Bardy 博士的角度来看,如果您想实践良好的医学,彻底革新一个领域,那么设计的各个方面都至关重要。从包装到对心电图进行全面解读的人员的培训,每件作品都必须充满爱。然而,一切都围绕着 Bardy 监测仪的关键功能:能够感知来自心脏的非常精细、细微的电信号。这既是一项电气设计挑战,又是机械、生物和化学方面的挑战。尺寸、重量和舒适度对于成功至关重要。但是,如果没有心电图的细微细节,其他一切都没有价值。

Gabriel 直言不讳地表达了公司对质量和清晰度的坚定承诺,以及以患者为本的精神。“有勇气尝试不同的东西是关键。50 多年前最先进的药物却是如今的不良药物。CAM 非常像一朵花,花瓣是设计的不同方面:化学、机械、电气、固件、软件、硬件、算法,尤其是做出最终判读决策的人。哪怕只去除一个花瓣,花朵的美丽也会大大减少。

Silicon Labs MCU 是便携式心脏监测仪的核心

Silicon Labs 花了二十多年时间磨练其无线通信技术,以便像 Bardy Diagnostics 等公司能够推动其领域的创新。开发无线医疗设备面临着三项基本工程挑战。您必须保证精确、快速地提供准确的测量结果,您需要通过强大的技术来增强医疗设备的无线安全性,并且您必须通过可靠的设计和低功耗技术来最大限度地延长电池寿命。

Bardy Diagnostics 小巧轻便的 CAM 贴片基于 Silicon Lab EFM32架构。患者接口传感器连接到系统的核心 MCUEFM32TG210。此设备提供集成外设(ADC、SPI、ASYNC 串行接口和定时器功能),运行功率极低,使 CAM 贴片能有效“捕捉”那些微小的心脏细节,这将 CAM 贴片与其他可用的监测仪区分开来。

“首先,ADC 提供了分辨率和滤波选项,确保他们能够获得所需的原始数据采集,同时保持在功率预算范围内。其次,与其他架构相比,EFM32TG微控制器的电源管理提供了卓越的节能效果。得益于极快的睡眠和唤醒转换、外围设备的自动操作和低功耗时钟生成,EFM32TG超出了系统要求,并且可使用标准14电池进行长达 CR1225 天的连续心电图记录,”Silicon Labs 的 Brian Blum 解释道。

Gabriel 还指出,EFM32TG210 的性能和功耗模式使他们能够按照规范设计和构建 CAM 贴片,并最终实现预期结果。他认为,在设计设备时,拥有符合性能期望的 MCU 是保持项目进度和预算的关键。“EFM32架构非常好,只需一块 48 mAh 的 CR1225 电池,即可进行长达 14 天的全面数据记录。正在捕获的信号可以低至 150 uVpp,即使在该范围内,模拟波形的精细细节仍然保持清晰。该 EFM32 架构包含高性能 ADC,可捕获这些细节,同时保持电磁安静的辐射特性,使小细节不会受到干扰。集成的过采样和超强且可配置的 ADC 功能是救生的关键。该 EFM32 架构在当时绝对具有革命性,大多数芯片供应商仍在追赶。”

当被问及从设计到上市的历程时,Gabriel 解释说需要克服许多技术挑战。“我们没有发现任何生产出如此低功耗的动态系统的厂商。通常,在医疗行业,几十年来,心电图的处理方式都是相同的,这点也不例外。当时的 CAM 贴片采用全新的前端设计,低噪音、低功耗。很难找到能够自如地处理此类工作的人,因此我们的工程团队直接在大学毕业(或在大学期间)就接受了培训。到目前为止,我们相信拓扑无可匹敌,并且正在被越来越多的设备所采用,取代了传统的前端拓扑。” 

监管后认证是获得医生和机构对新产品信心的另一个挑战。任务关键型环境中的新技术通常面临采用受阻、大型机构决策缓慢,以及因感知到的采用风险而产生的惰性。幸运的是,由于记录的心脏电信号清晰,CAM 贴片本身就很有说服力。

阿拉斯加心脏和血管研究所临床心脏电生理学家 Mark Willcox 作为这项技术的倡导者,他说:“我是阿拉斯加最大的心脏病专家机构的 30 一名心脏病专家。我们非常依赖 Bardy Dx CAM 监测仪进行日常患者护理。如果没有这些监测仪,患者护理会受到影响。我们非常感谢 Bardy Diagnostics 代表我们的患者为促进持续生产所做的努力。”

Bardy Diagnostics 的未来前景如何?

“平台最明显的目标是更小、更轻、运行时间更长、连接更好。我们着眼于新一代 Silicon Labs EFM32设备,例如 Pearl Gecko 和支持蓝牙的 BG22,以便未来在该领域进行改进。”Gabriel 说道。

蓝牙是连接的理想之选,因为它提供经过充分测试的、成熟的无线解决方案,而且功耗低,提供与患者的移动设备或其他支持蓝牙的网关互操作,并且在协议中具有很大的灵活性,以权衡吞吐量、延迟和能耗。蓝牙安全提供卓越的保护,包括安全配对、128 位加密、数据隐私、反跟踪等。

“我们拥有多个工程师团队,他们非常努力地创造出下一代尤为先进的设备。身体是一首美丽的电子交响乐,有各种各样的生命体征,可以表明关于一个人健康的重要细节。也许在未来,我们将会看到更灵敏的仪器或同时采集更多生命体征的仪器,以提供更好的互联护理。”

随着 CAM 贴片继续推进动态心脏监测和诊断,看到 Bardy 医生的愿景(在很大程度上基于他的个人经验)正在帮助世界各地的患者,这令人非常激动。



1Rho R. 等人。两种动态贴片心电图监测仪的比较:P 波和信号清晰度的优势。《美国心脏病期刊》。2018 年 3 月。

2Smith WM. 等人。使用小型、单通道、以 P 波为中心的胸骨心电图监测贴片与标准 3 导联 Holter 系统在 24 小时内的诊断值比较。《美国心脏病期刊》。2017 年 3 月。

关闭
正在加载结果
关闭
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

A Portable Cardiac Monitor with an MCU at its Heart

Silicon Labs microprocessors are at the heart of a new type of ambulatory cardiac monitor designed for continuous operation for up to 14 days, which requires high performance with relatively low power consumption. Cardiac monitors have been available for more than a century. Yet, Dr. Gust H. Bardy, a cardiac electrophysiologist, had low confidence in their ability to accurately capture arrhythmias. When his wife, Lorene, became ill with heart rhythm problems, his skepticism increased. It was not possible to get clear and precise recordings of her various rhythm disorders. She died April 26, 2012, from cardiac arrest that was the result of broader cardiac and vascular abnormalities. Exactly one year later, Dr. Bardy began a journey to improve both the signal quality and the diagnostic accuracy of ambulatory heart rhythm monitors both as a public health mission and to honor Lorene. It was at this time that he launched Bardy Diagnostics and engaged a small team of engineers to translate the goal of cardiac rhythm diagnostic precision into the circuit board of the device that monitors the heart. Much of this work revolved around showing more nuance in the recorded ECG, educating the team on the diversity and complexity of cardiac rhythm disorders, and significantly altering and improving the software routinely used with ambulatory ECG monitors.

Today, the WHO estimates that cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) are the leading cause of death globally, taking an estimated 17.9 million lives each year. Heart rhythm disorders account for a large proportion of these deaths. Accurately and rapidly identifying those at the highest risk of arrhythmias and ensuring they receive appropriate and timely treatment can prevent premature deaths. New technologies offer the chance to increase the accuracy and efficacy of traditional ECG monitoring devices by resolving smaller signals and finer details in the cardiac waveform leading to more specific diagnoses.1 2

 

Creating a Smarter Niche with CAM, an Ambulatory Cardiac Monitor

Accurate diagnosis starts with an accurate ECG tracing. The better-known electrocardiogram – or ECG/EKG – is a device designed to record the electrical activity of the heart. This device is non-invasive, usually involving electrodes placed on the skin of the chest and limbs to measure electrical activity from the heart. The output signal can be used to determine or detect abnormal heart rhythms (i.e., arrhythmias) that may cause cardiac arrest, stroke, or loss of consciousness. These monitors, known as long-term ECG (LT-ECG) monitors, are worn 24/7 for up to 14 days without a change of monitoring electrodes, allowing patients to shower, sleep comfortably, and engage in exercise. This is in stark contrast to the historical Holter monitor, worn for just 1-2 days with multiple dangling wires and simplistic engineering and heart rhythm analysis. Dr. Bardy’s invention, the CAM™ Patch, is an LT-ECG device offering exceptional comfort and compliance.

“While a traditional monitor is excellent at detecting R-waves (the largest electrical signal from the heart), and certainly an important part of the cardiac waveform, the R-wave alone is insufficient to diagnose many abnormal heart rhythms," says Gabriel. "There is just so much other information buried in low amplitude shifts of the other waves. What appears to be a small shift in waveform shape can prove critical for helping people get the specific treatment they need to improve their health and manage serious disease.”

The CAM system at all levels of the design needed to be optimized to capture these tiny and delicate signals. And yet, human factors were of utmost importance as the device needed to be minimally intrusive to the patient’s daily activities. 

“Let’s be honest, when you have an octopus of cables and sensors wrapped around your body, as has been the case with typical cardiac monitors, about the only place you are going to be is hiding in your bedroom.” 

From Dr. Bardy’s perspective, if you want to practice good medicine and revolutionize a field absolutely, every aspect of the design is critical. Every piece must be made with love, from the packaging to the training of those who do the overreading of the ECG. And yet, everything pivots around the key feature of the Bardy monitor: the ability to sense very fine, nuanced electrical signals from the heart. This is an electrical design challenge as much as it is mechanical, biological, and chemical. Size, weight, and comfort are absolutely critical for success. But without the subtle details of the ECG, all else has little value.

Reflecting the company’s unwavering dedication to quality and clarity, as well as its patient-first ethos, Gabriel doesn’t mince his words. “Having the gumption to try something different is key. What was state-of-the-art 50 years ago is bad medicine today. The CAM is very much like a flower, the petals being the different aspects of the design: chemical, mechanical, electrical, firmware, software, hardware, algorithms, and especially the humans that make the final overreading decisions. If just one petal is removed, the beauty of the flower is greatly diminished.

Silicon Labs MCU is the Heart of the Portable Cardiac Monitor

Silicon Labs has spent more than two decades honing its wireless communication technology so that companies like Bardy Diagnostics can drive innovation in their fields. There are three fundamental engineering challenges related to developing wireless medical devices. You must guarantee the delivery of accurate measurements with precision and speed, you need to supercharge your medical device’s wireless security with robust technology, and you must maximize your battery life with robust technology by design and low power consumption.

Bardy Diagnostics’ small and lightweight CAM patch is based on the Silicon Lab EFM32 architecture. The patient interface sensor connects to the heart of the system, the EFM32TG210 MCU. This device provides the integrated peripherals (ADC, SPI, ASYNC serial interface and timer functions) and operates with very little power to make the CAM patch effective at “seeing” those minute cardiac details that distinguish the CAM Patch from other available monitors.

“First, the ADC offers the resolution and filtering options to ensure that they can get the raw data acquisitions they need, while keeping within the power budget. Second, the EFM32TG microcontroller’s power management offers exceptional power savings compared to other architectures. Thanks to extremely fast sleep and awake transitions, automous operation of peripherals, and low-power clock generation the EFM32TG exceeds system requirements and enables up to 14 days of continuous ECG recording using a standard CR1225 battery,” explains Silicon Labs’ Brian Blum.

Gabriel also notes that the EFM32TG210’s performance and power modes allowed them to design and build the CAM Patch to specification and ultimately achieve the anticipated results. He maintains that when designing a device, having an MCU that meets performance expectations is key to keeping on schedule and within budget for the project. “The EFM32 architecture was so good that up to 14 days of full disclosure recording was possible with just a 48 mAh CR1225 battery. The signals that were being captured can be as low as 150 uVpp, and even at that range, the clarity of the analog waveform’s fine detail is preserved. The EFM32 architecture contains high-performance ADCs that allow capture of those details while keeping an electromagnetically quiet emissions profile so that small details are not obstructed by interference. Integrated oversampling and exceptionally robust and configurable ADC features were a lifesaver. The EFM32 architecture was absolutely revolutionary at the time, and most chip suppliers are still playing catch-up.”

When asked about the journey from design to market, Gabriel explains that there were many technical challenges that needed to be overcome. “We have not found anyone who has produced an ambulatory system with such low power consumption. Often in the medical industry, things are done in the same way for decades, ECG is no exception to that. The CAM Patch at the time featured a completely new front end designed from the ground up to be low noise and low power. It was hard to find people who were comfortable working with something like that, so our engineering team was trained straight out of (or while in) college. To this day, we believe the topology is unmatched and is seeing adoption in more devices, replacing legacy front end topologies.” 

Post-regulatory certification is another challenge to gaining the confidence of physicians and institutions to embrace a new product. New technologies in mission-critical environments often face adoption resistance, slow decision-making across larger institutions, and inertia through the perceived risk of adoption. Thankfully it’s taken little convincing as the CAM Patch speaks for itself by virtue of the clarity of the cardiac electrical signal that is recorded. 

Mark Willcox, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiologist at the Alaska Heart and Vascular Institute, came forward as an advocate for the technology saying, “I am one of more than 30 cardiologists at the largest cardiologist practice in Alaska. We rely heavily on Bardy Dx CAM monitors for day-to-day patient care. That care would be compromised in the absence of these monitors. We greatly appreciate Bardy Diagnostics’ efforts to facilitate continued production on behalf of our patients.”

What Does the Future Hold for Bardy Diagnostics?

“The most obvious targets for the platform are to be smaller, lighter, longer running and better connected. We have our eye on the new generation of Silicon Labs EFM32 devices such as the Pearl Gecko and Bluetooth-enabled BG22 for future improvements in this area,” states Gabriel.

Bluetooth is the leading choice for connectivity because it offers a well-tested and mature wireless solution that is also low power, offers interoperability with patients’ mobile devices or other Bluetooth-enabled gateways, and has significant flexibility baked into the protocol to tradeoff throughput, latency, and energy consumption. Bluetooth security offers excellent protection, including secure pairing, 128-bit encryption, data privacy, anti-tracking, and more. 

“We have a couple of teams of engineers that work very hard to create the next state-of-the-art devices. The body is a beautiful electronic symphony with a wide variety of vital signs that can indicate important details about a person’s health. Perhaps in the future, we will see more sensitive instruments or ones that simultaneously capture more vital signs to provide better-connected care."

As the CAM patch continues to advance ambulatory cardiac monitoring and diagnostics, it’s remarkably heartwarming to see how Dr. Bardy’s vision, which was largely built on his personal experience, is helping patients around the world.



1Rho R., et al. Comparison of two ambulatory patch ECG monitors: The benefit of the P- wave and signal clarity. American Heart Journal. March 2018.

2Smith WM., et al. Comparison of diagnostic value using a small, single-channel, P-wave centric sternal ECG monitoring patch with a standard 3-lead Holter system over 24 hours. American Heart Journal. March 2017.

Close
Loading Results
Close